86th Academy Awards – Predictions

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

It’s that time of the year again when the entire world gathers around their TV sets, computer monitors, twitter feeds or what have you to watch rich people give each other awards… I mean The Oscars. Therefore, just for fun I’ve prepared a list of who in my opinion will win tonight. It doesn’t necessarily mean that I think the following films should or deserve to win, but I am now testing a quasi-scientific method and I hope I’m up to something here. Note that I purposefully abstained from giving my predictions for any of the short categories, as they are completely unpredictable and there’s no logic in voting there besides ‘If I see a friend’s name, I’ll vote for it’.

This year, I don’t have a particular problem with the predicted winner versus my personal favourite, but I would like to see Michael Fassbender get the Supporting Actor Oscar instead of the predicted Jared Leto. Also, I wouldn’t mind Roger Deakins getting recognition for his cinematography in “Prisoners”, or Terence Winter for his screenplay for “The Wolf of Wall Street”. But, there you go…

Here’s the list of my predictions of tonight’s 86th Academy Award Winners:

Best Picture: “Gravity”

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Original Screenplay: “Her”

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Captain Phillips”

Best Cinematography: “Gravity”

Best Editing: “Captain Phillips”

Best Visual Effects: “Gravity”

Best Sound Editing: “Gravity”

Best Sound Mixing: “Gravity”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Costumes: “The Great Gatsby”

Best Production Design: “American Hustle”

Best Score: “Gravity”

Best Song: “Mandela – Long Walk to Freedom”

Best Animated Feature: “Frozen”

Best Foreign Feature: “The Great Beauty”

Best Documentary: “The Act of Killing”

See Also:

85th Academy Awards – Predictions and wishful thinking

Oscars recap – All hail Tarantino!

Leave a Reply

