2013 so far…

While working on something I had been wanting to write up for a long time now, it occurred to me that with June clocking out we are now halfway through the year 2013. And on this glorious evening, whilst over across the pond the Americans celebrate their stars and stripes, I figured I might have a look at the past six months and summarize it a little. I had the pleasure of seeing some really outstanding films, as well as a bunch of terrible ones – so you might say it has been… diverse. Probably at some point in time, I will try and summarize the summer as well (when it’s finished, duh, but over here where I live I think the summer is already gone for good…), but meanwhile I figured I could break down the ‘2013 so far’ in terms of cinema-related goodies.

I have seen and reviewed a good crowd of films, but if I had to choose the best 2013 releases so far (that I have seen), I have no other choice but to point out five:

 

5. “Trance” – Danny Boyle’s latest opus that I will sure go back to at some point in time.

4. “The Iceman” – Michael Shannon’s take on the mind of a murderer

3. “Behind The Candelabra” – Soderbergh’s fantastic swan song

2. “Good Vibrations” – the ultimate feel-great movie

1. “The Place Beyond The Pines” – The only film this year so far to have left me nearly speechless.

ryan-gosling-stars-in-first-trailer-for-the-place-beyond-the-pines-watch-now-124452-470-75

 

 

As much as I would have liked to include a couple more in the list (“Side Effects” or “Stoker”) I think keeping that little list short makes it a bit more meaningful. I normally don’t score films in any way, but it does provides a challenge to make up my mind about certain thing… finally. And it was a hard nut to crack, I have to admit.

On the other hand, if you asked me what the biggest duds this year so far were, I would immediately stand up and recite the following trio of shame:

 

3. “Oblivion”

2. “Iron Man 3”

1. “A Good Day To Die Hard”

 

All of them terrible films… two of them sequels… All of them made more money than they should have… Really… The fact I even mention them makes me feel uneasy, because I might just be giving them unnecessary attention once more, so there…

I could sure mention more titles that ended up mild-to-horrendous disappointments that I haven’t given any thought in writing before, like “Jack Reacher”, “The Last Stand”, “Jack The Giant Slayer” (that I refused to finish watching by the way), or “Bullet To The Head”, but I think I should try and end this little article on a good note instead.

To that end, I think I should admit that a couple of titles managed to slip through my sausage fingers, like “Mud” with a career-defining performance by Matthew McConaughey, or “No”, so I deem it appropriate to wrap up the first half of 2013 with a vow to catch up with these gems of cinema that have eluded my sight so far.

As it is usual every year, the remaining half of the year can only get more and more exciting with the awards season slowly making its way our direction and the summer popcorn-munchers gradually dissipating into nomen omen oblivion… Good luck to us all…

Leave a Reply

