Oscars Recap – All Hail Tarantino!

tarantino oscar

Yes, you heard me! That’s right, I said it and I’m not taking it back! I couldn’t be happier than to see Quentin walk away with an Oscar for the best original screenplay. After all, it is his crown category. There. I’m happy.

The Academy Awards have been awarded, the champagne has been drunk, the carpets have been rolled back in, the tuxedos have been laundered and the limos have been returned to that place that rents limos for Hollywood extravaganzas. It’s all gone now and we can now recollect Seth MacFarlane’s inappropriate jokes, Jennifer Lawrence’s slip up on her way to the stage, Quvenzhané Wallis’ doggie-shaped purse or suspiciously large amount of male Oscar recipients with long blonde hair.

All in all, this year’s 85th Academy Awards ended up rather predictable. I somehow managed to foresee 13 out of 24 awards which correspond to just about 54% accuracy on my part. Not a bad result, I should say, for a rookie. It would have been better, had I placed my bets on some of my own personal favorites  “Argo” came up on top grabbing the Best Picture award and walking away with three statuettes. However, somehow unpredictably, Ang Lee managed to scoop the Best Director award for “Life of Pi” – not cool. Not that I don’t appreciate Ang Lee’s work, I just think “Life of Pi” is a pretentious bummer of a film. But I digress… In the end, “Life of Pi” collected a total of 4 awards (direction, score, visual effects and cinematography) – the most of all the  entrants – thus diminishing Affleck’s victory. By the way, those two made “Lincoln” look like a schmuck as it went home only with 2 awards out of 12 nominations… Ouch.

As I already mentioned, however, this year’s Oscars snuck in a couple of surprises into the fold. I was so glad that both Tarantino and Christoph Waltz got the gongs, even though I thought the odds were really far away from being in their favor  Yet again, the Academy proved me wrong, for which I am eternally grateful, because I had not anticipated “Django” (being such a festive display of the n-word) getting the best screenplay and Waltz getting a supporting actor award again. For his second-in-a-row Tarantino picture – again. I simply thought it was mathematically unlikely to happen, but hey… All’s well that ends well, right?

Staying on the note of surprising curiosities; Daniel Day-I-Play-Everything-Like-A-Boss-Lewis made history by becoming the first man to receive three Oscars as the lead actor. Also, Jenny Lawrence became the youngest actress to be nominated for lead actress consecutively at the age of 22 (and she got the gong, which is a win, right there). And speaking of age, Emmanuelle Riva became the oldest ever nominee for the lead actress at 85 while Quvenzhané Wallis became the youngest one in the same category at the age of 9, all in the same year…. You can’t make that stuff up. The last surprise to be mentioned was the tie in the sound editing category with “Skyfall” and “Zero Dark Thirty” sharing the spotlight.

All things considered, it was a fun night – maybe too predictable – and I can’t wait to see what the next year will bring to the table. Now, let’s sit back and watch the political poopstorm that’s about to unleash because of “Argo”. As I said, it was a very good movie – fantastic even, but its political bias could piss some people off and it sure will now. You have been warned.

Leave a Reply

